In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why people buy imported food? What can be done to encourage people to buy local food?

In the present day, an increasing number of local residents have the urge to prefer foreign countries' food over native cuisine, due to the geological and atmospheric conditions which are needed to farm certain fruits. However, this can be addressed by imposing higher taxes to make foreign nations' food bear a higher price. It is vital to acknowledge that certain fruits can only be grown within the geographical conditions of certain areas. This is especially so if these fruits can only be grown in cold atmospheres or require minerals that cannot be synthesized. Consequently, these fruits can be very exotic and local citizen’s curiosity will drive them to purchase such produces. Therefore, it is easy to understand why certain crops can only be produced in their native homeland. Although, imported food can effortlessly dominate the market over local food this can be dealt with by tax policies so that foreign food would be sold at a higher price. It is self-evident that many foreign foods can out-compete local cuisines with the advantage of lower commercial price tags. Hence, a strict policy of taxation could be introduced so that the price of non-native products would have a lower standing ground when compared to local food in pricing. In conclusion, unique foreign fruits have actively approached the native customers’ curiosities, making them preferable to local food. However, it can be tackled by higher taxes that can make the foreign products have higher prices which make local customers stick to the local cuisines more.