Some people say that main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. others say that there are more important environmental problems.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A number of individuals say that the primary concern regarding the environment is the extinction of certain families of flora and fauna, but others argue that there are more crucial issues concerning nature that should be addressed. I am in favour of the latter point of view. On the one hand, the reason why some people are concerned about endangered species of plants and animals the most is that it breaks natural ecological balance. As is known to all, there are complex food chains between plants and animals. If one of the species in the food chain dies out, there would be many influences on other species, and the most important effect is to disrupt the food chain, starving animals and those that prey on them or making some of the species loss their natural enemies. For example, rabbits without a natural predator would dig a large number of holes under the ground, which could prevent plant growth in the area. On the other hand, few people argue that the public should pay attention to other environmental problems as well. In today’s time, there are numerous issues concerning nature that need people to solve such as global warming and water pollution. There is no doubt that temperature heating can be a serious problem as it causes forest fires which kill thousands of trees and animals every year. Also, it makes the sea level rise, which means there will be more creatures losing their residence, and as for water pollution that is caused by industrial sewage and oil spill, it can easily lead to the death of marine animals and illness of human beings. In conclusion, I believe that there are other significant environmental concerns aside from the disappearance of some plants and animals. This is because although they play a relevant part in the ecosystem, other problems that cause greater harm to mankind should be considered more.