As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With technology growing at a faster pace than ever, the spontaneous availability of news from across the globe is highly demanded. Although newspapers are still a major outlet for many people, the internet is catching up with its presence on almost every device. This essay explores the differences in the media and concludes with a personal opinion. Firstly, newspapers have been around for a long time and are considered a primary source of information about national and international events. In addition to this, these papers also act as a catalogue for job classifieds and local advertisements which are often used by all demographics of the community. For example, the local real estate for sale is often found in the district section. Despite having a limitation on how much information can be printed on a daily basis, some argue that it is for the best as it provides only the content with the highest importance. On the other hand, with rise in the social media and other online outlets for news, the internet is slowly becoming a convenient option for many. Especially in the younger generation with higher proficiency in technology, surfing the web is a common practice to learn about anything quickly. For instance, the status updates about the recent Titan submarine situation were available throughout the world instantaneously over various websites. Additionally, many newspaper critics argue that through the means of the Internet, one can not only learn things faster but also reduce the production and usage of paper. In conclusion, I agree that print media is indeed losing its popularity to the Internet. The latter is a much more efficient way of communication. However, we should also understand that not everyone has access to it or is educated enough in its operations.