Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind the bars. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

As the law is very strict these days, even the slightest misconduct can put a person behind bars for a few days. It is because of this reason that some people believe certain prisoners should be asked to do community work for free rather than imprisoning them. I agree with them, and this essay will elucidate my assertions in the forthcoming paragraphs. Having said that, as a result of stringent laws, even if one engages in a fight with someone, he can be held behind bars. If individuals like these are asked to do social work, then this can benefit them in order to clear their image in society. For instance, when the United Nations started this trend, many such people came forward and thanked the government authorities for providing them with this opportunity to serve the country. In case they were jailed, their image would have been wiped out. Therefore, engaging themselves in a social cause helped them not only to clear out their image but also to do something good for society. Moreover, if people with minor crimes get involved in noble causes for free, it will help the law-making bodies save a lot of money, which could be put to use elsewhere. Sectors like education, technology, and healthcare can certainly benefit immensely due to surplus money. For example, when the United Kingdom adopted this method of serving the nation, the authorities saved a lot of money, which was put to use for defence services. Thus, motivating minor crime individuals to make efforts toward the betterment of society can help the government bodies to channelise monetary resources efficiently. To summarise, the people who commit minor crimes should be made to do social work instead of putting them behind bars. This will ensure that their image is improved in society. Further, it will enable the authorities to save funds for utilising in areas that need it the most.