Everybody should be allowed admission to university or college programs regardless of their level of academic ability. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Every individual deserves to receive basic elementary schooling. However, some believe that everybody should also be admitted into university or college programs irrespective of their previous academic records. I completely disagree with this opinion for various reasons. Firstly, if a student is guaranteed admission,he or she might tend to get complacent. A high school graduate might not give his best as the graduate is already promised a place. For instance, an average pupil will not strive for better results if the pupil is already handed a place at a reputed university. Thus, it is important to keep the admissions merit-based so that the candidates continue to strive for excellence. Secondly, if everyone is granted admission into these schools the quality of learning will suffer. The number of students will increase and the professors will be unable to give any personal attention. For example, it will be easier for a lecturer to teach a class of forty people rather than to teach a class containing ninety people. Thus, it is imperative to control the class size to preserve effective learning. In conclusion, academic ability should be considered in order to effectively run the education system. Granting everybody admission would be unfair to the deserving candidates and would undermine their effort. Thus, everybody should be rewarded according to their labour and perseverance.