In recent years, the rise of ebooks causes the decline in paper books. Some people argue this is a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Modern technology has digitized everything from currency, to newspapers and also paper books. In the past few years, the ebooks on the rise led to a decline in paper books. This has sparked a discussion on whether it is a good change or not. Although ebooks can have many advantages such as less paper usage and also using them can reduce financial burden on readers, it can also mean that readers may likely suffer from vision-related problems associated with prolonged usage of electronic devices and also they will not be able to share their books with each other. This essay will explore what I consider to be the benefits and drawbacks of ebooks. To begin with, using ebooks can drastically reduce the usage of paper, which will not be the case with the usage of paper books. Readers should encourage ebooks as it is the right step towards protecting the environment from the tremendous destruction of trees to produce paper books. Secondly, it is a great financial benefit to readers because it is just a one-time investment towards enjoying lifetime reading. For example, readers can just subscribe to a publisher with a certain fee and they will be able to download newly released books for free rather than purchasing every book from a bookstore. There are, however, a few drawbacks associated with the usage of ebooks. Firstly, users may suffer from eye-vision-related problems because of extensive usage of digital devices which would not be the case with traditional paper books. A recent study has shown that prolonged usage of tablets, mobiles and laptops will impact eye vision by 5 per cent. Secondly, most of the readers are part of one or more book communities and it is very common to share books with other members of the community. Readers will not be able to share their ebooks as they are restricted to a single user and there is no sharing facility provided by the ebooks publishers to share them with fellow users. In conclusion, using ebooks can be beneficial in protecting the environment by reducing the trees being destroyed to produce paper and also it can be a great benefit to readers financially, but readers can suffer from eye vision-related ailments and also the books sharing habit which most of the readers have will be lost.