Students should be taught to read and write using a computer, as handwriting will not be used in the future. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Because of the technical development, computers are more and more important in life and work, replacing handwriting in many situations. Due to this importance, many people suggest that students should learn how to use a computer to read and write. They believe that in the future, handwriting will be not essential anymore. Although students should know how to use computers for their studying, I suppose that writing by hand will not disappear in the future. On one hand, computers overwhelm traditional writing. In a minute, people can type more words than they write. It is crucial in the educational environment. Students can have to note essential things for examinations or simply because they do not have good memory. Therefore, the noting speed should be accelarated to get as much information as possible, especially when students have to learn a great number of subjects at school. In addition, typing can be an ideal solution for students who have illegible writing style. This is essential as sometimes, teachers can assess the answers of students for exercises. If teachers cannot read what their students read, they are not able to give effective and punctual advice to improve their skills or correct incorrect answers. Typing can deal with this disadvantage of writing by hand, helping teachers to access students ' answers and examine how excellent they are. On the other hand, computers cannot completely replace handwriting in the future. One of the main reasons is the teachnique to type as rapidly as possible. Students usually have to learn how to use ten fingers to type words, while writing by hand only needs the movements the preferred hand to do it. That means typing is much more challenging than handwriting. In addition, the instruction for writing is much easier than for typing. When guiding how to writing, teachers can hold students ' hands and move the pen to create letters and words. In the mean time, they cannot not directly instruct their students how to use a computer keyboard, but just teach theories about typing and supervise how fast students type. Another significant drawback of computers is they are not suitable for a number of writing systems in the world, which handwriting can deal with. For instance, unlike Westerners, the Chinese people have to learn logogram instead of phonogram. Logogram is a writing system in which each character represents a word without showing consonants and vowels. Therefore, to remember Hanzi, or the Chinese logogram, people in China have to write frequently. This is what typing cannot solve, it is only effective in the case of alphabetic writing systems such as the Latin, Greek and Cyril alphabets. In conclusion, typing can be faster than handwriting and it is usually suitable for the students who write illegibly. Nevertheless, the typing technique is much more difficult than the handwriting to learn and teach and computers can be not useful for a number of writing systems.