Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

Formal examinations are traditionally used to score pupils' performance at the end of the school year. However, some experts believe that this kind of assessment is basically flawed and students should be graded based on their continuous performance throughout the semester. Although I believe that the former possesses some merits, I think that a continual assessment is a more suitable method of scoring. In this,essay I will endeavour to reason my point of view and draw a conclusion based on that. On the one hand, it is easy to claim that traditional formal exams are a fair method of grading since they are identical for everyone. For instance, favouritism is a real issue in academic environments that can be altogether omitted with this tested method. Hence, the true level of an individual is revealed. Nevertheless, although this quantitive form of assessment is identical in essence, it does not take into account the conditions in which the students are in. For example, many individuals are burdened with mental issues such as anxiety disorders or ADHD which can impair their ability to focus and perform under stressful circumstances. Therefore, continuous scoring of their performance during the year will be outstandingly beneficial to these students. Furthermore, this style of grading enables the teachers to grade students based on their long-term endeavours of doing a project. I for one have always struggled with subjects that required memorizing and excelled at subjects which required analysis or practical projects. So, many students such as myself would have had an easier time at school if our performance were evaluated in shorter intervals. To summarise, although some can argue that formal examinations are identical and fair, our deeper understanding of human nature and psychology shows that it is not so and scoring students based on their whole performance throughout is a more beneficial method of doing so. Unfortunately, the state of educational systems all around the globe does not seem to agree with the logic of this essay, but one can hope that if you shout loud enough, there will be someone to listen to you.