Nowadays many young people are drawn towards dangerous sports. What makes them so attractive? What measures should be taken to regulate such sports and minimise the risks?

There are lots of activities which could go tragically wrong and prove to be dangerous. Some modern youngsters are fond of such sports, this essay will explore why this may be the case and what can be done to reduce the risks of getting involved in those types of activities. One of the reasons why dangerous sports are appealing to some young people is that they may believe that being fearless and taking risks are extraordinary characteristics, therefore, it will make them popular among their peers. For example, teenagers may get a boost of confidence and a sense of achievement when boasting to their friends about taking part in a fast car race. This is because they may believe that others will see them as superior and as role models. This attention is sought by some of the youngsters choosing to spend their free time getting involved in dangerous sports. To improve the situation and to protect the wellbeing of participants, some regulatory measures should be introduced by sports organisers. One way they can do this is by introducing strict safety protocols that must be adhered to by all those that take part. Moreover, hefty fines and penalties such as being banned from participating could be put in place to ensure safety measures are being followed at all times. The result of such regulations will mean that accidents are reduced in high-risk sports. In conclusion, being popular among peer groups may trigger youngsters to turn towards risky activities and it is the responsibility of the sport organisers to ensure that safety protocols are in place and are adhered to by everyone that takes part.