Some people think that schools should choose students according to their academic abilities, while others think it is better to have students of different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion?

Some individuals believe that students should be admitted based on their academic merits, whereas others argue that schools should select their students from varying skill sets. In this essay, I will discuss both sides and draw my conclusion. On the one hand, it is undeniable that mixed-ability classes bring out numerous benefits to students. To begin with, as children are educated with others from different levels, they can learn from each other and overcome their weaknesses. To illustrate, those who excel in science subjects but struggle with foreign languages can improve their vocabulary and grammar with support from other classmates and vice versa. As a result, they are more likely to grow up and become well-rounded individuals. In addition, this approach enables students to cooperate well with others, thus enhancing their teamwork skills which are very helpful for their future careers. On the other hand, it is argued that grouping students according to their academic abilities is beneficial to both students and teachers. Since intelligent students are separate from lower-level groups, teachers can easily plan more suitable lessons to work at the right speed for them. For instance, students with high academic skills can be provided with advanced materials to foster their progress, while the lower-level ones still can acquire new knowledge if teachers explain lessons at a slower pace. In other words, this approach not only helps students to study effectively and efficiently but also makes teaching easier for teachers. In conclusion, segregating students based on their academic abilities can aid in planning lessons which are more suitable for the students ’ acquisition speed. However, I am of the opinion that integrating learners from different levels is better because it can create citizens who are well-rounded academically.