Children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough what are the advantages and disadvantages of giving the children this message?

The world has people of all kinds, however, there is a rare group conformed by very few, but what do all of them have in common? they went from having nothing to everything just using a simple but effective principle that is: believing in themselves, being hard workers, and trying until they get what they want. The incredible stories of these people inspire members of society that want their children to be like them, as a result, these folks tell the children that if they want something they can get it just by not giving up and working hard. In this text, I will be explaining why this message while positive, has to be managed carefully because although sometimes you try hard luck is not on your side. Working hard, not throwing the towel, and being difficult to keep down are all key ingredients to success, and although most of the time they work out sometimes they don't because being alive is hard and it always has been. For instance, think of the life of Isaiah Austin, he was a kid that had just graduated college, and he had put in the hours to become an NBA player, nevertheless, destiny was not on his side, a few days from being drafted to the doctors diagnosed the student with a mild case of Marfan syndrome which caused his dream of being an NBA player to shatter, as I just said trying hard despite of being the most important part sometimes to get the job done you need a little bit lucky. Nonetheless, if you manage to get that tiny spark of luck and you are already going your one hundred per cent you are likely to be amazingly successful, this can be seen in the story of Kobe Bean Bryant also known as the "black mamba", he managed to work so hard that he was able to carry the team on his own and when his little spark of fortune came in he was able to enter the NBA and win several titles, 5 championships and he is remembered as one of the greatest to ever play the game. In brief, giving the kids the idea that if they work with dedication they can get whatever they want is a good message that can lead them to future victories but even so, it has to be managed with caution because fate will not always give you what you want and in case of fail this can lead to serious issues just like depression, suicide or something worse.