Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages to this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is argued that many businesses spent a lot of money on sponsoring sports as a way of marketing themselves. This issue is debatable, some say it is a noble idea while others view it as a drawback.I disagree with the notion that companies should sponsor sporting activities, but there are better uses of company resources which I am going to explain in this essay. Advertising brings a number of benefits to the corporate. Firstly, if companies choose to market themselves by supporting sports, it is a very effective way of raising their reputation. For example, they can buy sportswear for a certain team, whenever that team is playing, people will notice the log or name on the uniforms, and as a,result new customers will be aware of that company. It has been proven that successful companies spent a huge sum of money on advertising and this will result in higher profits. Moreover, advertisements also remind old consumers about the products, and such constant remainders are useful in sustaining the ongoing of an entity. On the other hand, there are better ways of utilizing resources rather than sponsoring leisure activities. First of all, companies can raise employees' salaries and wages. Studies have shown that a motivated workforce might eventually increase production because every person will work efficiently to retain his or her employment. In addition to that, excess resources can be used to procure modern equipment like computers and tablets which have excellent speed in processing information. Apart from that, companies can also involve themselves in corporate social responsibility either in orphanages or children's homes where society places more value rather than in sports. Consequently, there are more pressing issues which are more important than donating to fun and entertainment activities. In conclusion, by donating to sports, companies can benefit in a number of ways since it's a marketing tool. Nevertheless, I still believe that there are more crucial ways of using company resources.