Some movies are serious, designed to make the audience think. Other movies are designed primarily to amuse and entertain. Which type of movie do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Movie topics in modern day are various and creative. Some offers laughter and amusement while others explore intense and influential ideas. Instead of entertainment, I prefer movies that inspire audiences to learn and think about important topics in our society, and two main reasons are discussed in this essay. Firstly, wars are a common subject and background for movie creation. By perceiving the realistic presentation in the films, the audiences gain more intense perception and experience about the wars, rather than reading from textbooks. For example, The Pianist is one of the movies with the greatest influence in my life. Learning the suffer and turmoil people faced in war time, as a result, allow me to be grateful for the peace I am enjoying. Secondly, some filmmakers bring up social concerns and injustice in their creations. In recent years, political topics like racism and risks to democracy are brought up to the theater screen, to warn and remind the public of its impact. For instance, a movie called Ten Years from Hong Kong describes the possibility of the city losing its autonomy and freedom of speech in ten years under the control of the Chinese Communist Party. Consequently, more people around the world were brought to attention of the human right concern in Hong Kong. To summarise, I prefer movies with meaningful messages over entertaining materials. For the reasons of the experience and perception I gained of the past, in addition, the alarming messages that might affect me in the future.