Some people believe that the goverment should takr care of old people and provide financial support after they retire. Others say indiciduals should save during their working years to fund their own retirement. What is your opinion? Is it a positivr or negative development?

Ageing is an unavoidable stage every human has to go through. While some believe the authorities are responsible for caring for and supporting their aged citizen financially, others suggest individuals should take responsibility of their retirement. In my opinion, governments should offer basic care and funding to their retired population. This essay will discuss the reasoning behind my belief. To begin with, if governments provide basic health care and financial support to the elders, it may release the pressure from the next generation who feel obligated to pay for all of their parent’s expenses. Therefore, they can focus on their production and education which will benefit the country. For example, many young people from Hong Kong contribute almost half of their income to their parent’s care due to the lack of retirement support from the government, thus the pressure of overworking reduce the motivation of citizen to pursue higher education or improvement. As a result, Hong Kong has been falling behind in educational and industrial development, furthermore, overpassed by countries like Singapore as the international financial hub. Moreover, the aged population was once labour resources, who paid taxes and contributed production and value to the country. Consequently, they deserve fundamental healthcare and basic needs such as housing and transportation support from their government. For instance, retired Australian citizens are entitled to pension and their medical bills are covered by the Medicare scheme. In conclusion, I strongly recommend governments take care of their aged citizens and offer financial support to them. Not merely because less pressured working citizens would be more productive, moreover, secured and motivated labour would bring positive influences to the development of their state. Also, the retirees, who once dedicated themselves to the development of the country, are well-deserved care in return.