49.Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us all want to do the same and look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an idea that advertising pushes everyone towards apathy because it encourages people to do the same things and look alike. Although I do not agree with this viewpoint, I believe that advertising has the potential to impact consumer behaviour. I object to advertising encouraging individuals to become synonyms for two reasons. First of all, due to the variety of brands and products, it is necessary to provide us with a wide range of choices to improve the competitiveness of the brand. For example, a coat is designed by a well-known company such as Gucci or Chanel in a different colour, material, style or texture. Even products from local or unknown brands come in a variety of models and prices. Second, as companies place their advertisements on different platforms, consumers will inevitably have higher standards and critical evaluations of every product they use. Before buying anything, they seek reviews from multiple sources such as experts, customers or influencers. So, in the end, both companies and consumers are after a unique image. On the other hand, advertisements do affect public behaviour, especially when they are able to reach target audiences through various methods. While each brand has its own design, they all follow trends and pursue a loyal customer base. An obvious example is Apple's iPhone line, which pioneered the rectangular edges and bunny-ear notch that prompted other companies to follow suit. Additionally, many advertisements use manipulative techniques that can influence consumers without their knowledge. As traditional methods such as ad breaks and classifieds no longer provide value, companies are turning to subtler methods like product placement, celebrity endorsements, or word-of-mouth recommendations. As a result, the public can be manipulated if they do not think critically and control their desires. All in all, I firmly believe that consumers can make wise purchases and maintain a distinctive appearance while being influenced by advertising.