50.News media are important in modern society. Why are they so important? Are their influences generally positive or negative?

For many people, the news is an integral part of their daily lives. An issue in dispute is whether the massive influence of the news media on people's daily lives denotes a negative development. In my opinion, the news media does more good than harm to society. It is undeniable that news media has some negative influence. First of all, the news media exaggerates the magnitude of the real threat such as the potential of a terrorist attack, in order to draw the attention of the desired audiences and in pursuit of high audience ratings. It ends up causing panic among the population. Meanwhile, the news media tends to emphasize some issues or events, which virtually have little relevance to people's daily lives, such as an occasional multiple-vehicle accident, an affair that a celebrity is involved with, and the like. It distracts the audience from something that is much more noteworthy, for instance, poverty, and environmental problems, to name but a few. However, news media also provides people with much of the information they need on a timely basis, allowing them to keep up with current events and have more topics to discuss. Anecdotal evidence shows that people from all walks of life have the habit of collecting information regularly from various types of media, such as print, broadcast, and internet-based sources. Meanwhile, it should be recognized that the news media can sometimes save lives and reduce casualties. There is a lot of uncertainty surrounding the environment, and individuals are vulnerable to harm resulting from accidents, crimes, and natural disasters. The news media conveys firsthand information to concerned audiences and enables them to take corresponding actions right away. The authority can declare a state of emergency when it is necessary, organize evacuations, and distribute aid to the affected areas. All of these efforts rely on the news media serving as the messenger. In summary, it is important to acknowledge the role of news media as an information provider. In the event of an emergency, it serves as a life-saver. However, it is not to say that the news media can provide people with a comprehensive understanding of societal issues at all times.