Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, some individuals think that voluntary service should be made mandatory for all secondary school pupils however, others feel it should be optional. I completely disagree with making unpaid service mandatory for all students. On one hand, making unpaid community service compulsory for students doesn't avail them the opportunity of having a personal interest in the job because they feel they are been forced and this hinders them from acquiring the necessary skills that are meant to be gained while performing the job which is one of the curial reasons for the school adding it to their curriculum. Secondly, students deployed to various duty posts to perform voluntary services under compulsion are usually ill-mannered at their place of work. They are often seen reporting late to work, or not coming to work without prior notice or the recipients of their services filing complaints of their dissatisfaction because of their lack of the zeal that is required in performing their roles effectively. On the other hand, pupils who are given the liberty to decide whether they want to participate in voluntary services or not, usually perform better because they put their mind to the service being rendered and ensure they get a good appraisal from their supervisor after their stay. Also, students who choose to participate in unpaid jobs willfully tend to select a job that aligns with the course they want to study at the university and this provides them with the opportunity to learn on the job. For example, students volunteer to work in the hospital because they want to be a medical professional in future, or to work in a pet store because they want to study veterinary medicine. In conclusion, students partaking in unpaid jobs is highly beneficial to their cognitive, psychomotor and affective domains of learning however, they should be given the free will to decide whether to participate or not.