Some people feel that equality between the genders has already been achieved while others feel there is considerable progress to be made. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Gender inequality has been a subject of discussion for decades. Some believe that equality exists between males and females, whereas others think there is still a long way to go. My thoughts are that there is still work to be done to reach an equal footing however, progress has been made over the decades. But is this enough? A few decades ago, the inequality was more apparent. For example, women were not allowed to own property in the USA nor were they able to open their own bank accounts. Before marriage, they would rely on the financial support of their father, then after, they would be at the mercy of their husband. They were unable to be financially independent and therefore did not experience true freedom. The opposite can be said for men - as they were the sole breadwinners, they would be at the front of most if not all, major decisions. Nowadays, this is not the case. Women in the USA are far from being unable to have a career or manage their money, however, this does not mean inequality has been eradicated. It is seen in the details. For example, from being considered to be too emotional for a certain position to being paid 83% of a man's income, there is still a long way to go. In conclusion, I believe there has been a lot of change over the past century. Women are constantly fighting for their rights which has allowed the new generation to live in the comfort of the change, however, it is not enough. There is more work to be done.