Some people think that cultural traditions will be destroyed when they are used as money-making machines aimed at tourists, other people believes that it is the only way to save such traditions in the world today. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the conservation of traditional cultures has become a heated topic across the world, particularly around how to prevent the traditions from disappearing. While some argue that commercialising these cultural norms is the only means, others believe that they should not be exploited as money-making tools. From my perspective, both arguments have some valid points and we should enable a balanced approach to protect our cultural relics. First and foremost, using these cultural heritages as devices for tourism does bring some great benefits. This is because tourism can provide the financial resources needed for the preservation of these traditions. There are many living examples in China, showcasing how tourism helps leverage the funding gap in promoting cultural practices. For example, a lot of foreigners are attracted to Shaolin Temple to watch Shaolin Gong Fu performances. The income from the ticketing provides support to students in local Gong Fu training institutions, thus reducing its risk of disappearing. Therefore, it is obvious that this way of conservation is indeed beneficial. However, there are some drawbacks to this approach as well, which should not be overlooked. This is because it might shift the focus from protecting cultural norms to purposely advertising to gain more money. As a result, institutions or companies may manipulate the practices to meet the preferences of tourists, thus losing the authenticity of these traditions. This has a detrimental impact on these traditions as the original version gets ignored and forgotten by the public. Accordingly, we acknowledge the importance of having an ethical practice when we commodify the traditional norms. In summary, preserving our cultural customs is a tough challenge for any nation or community. It is significant for us to recognise the benefit of utilising the tradition to raise financial support for conservation works, while at the same time, the authentic practices should be preserved. Only by having such a balanced method are we able to effectively and ethically pass on our traditions to emerging generations.