Nowadays, many adults cannot read or write. Why is this the case? What can we do to resolve this?

Currently, there is a significant number of grownups who are illiterate. This essay will discuss the primary reasons for this alarming rate of illiteracy and offer feasible solutions accordingly. In the first place, poverty and incarceration are two underlying causes of illiteracy. Primarily, people living in underdeveloped areas often cannot receive proper education. This is because the local government struggles to afford the expense of building educational infrastructure and hiring qualified teachers. For example, many children in Southwest China have to travel hours on mountainous roads to reach their schools, an obstacle which reinforces the misconception that studying is less important than entering the workforce. Additionally, incarceration exacerbates illiteracy, which in turn perpetuates the cycle because young delinquents lack access to training in reading, writing and other skill sets in the correctional facilities. In the second place, there are two effective solutions for this. Firstly, communication network services should be established and improved in deprived areas. In this way, children will have access to the Internet, enabling them to browse a plethora of free learning materials. In addition to developing the communication system, the education department should invest more in enriching the content and range of online courses to suit various needs. Secondly, more literacy programs should be conducted in penal institutions. This is to ensure that offenders can have a chance to grab language skills and other basic knowledge, increasing their employability after being released and reducing their chance of re-offending. In conclusion, poverty and incarceration are intertwined with illiteracy. However, by providing Internet service and online courses and offering education programs in jail, we can give those in need the resources to improve and reinvent themselves.