Some parents allow their children to play on electronic devices such as computers and smartphones as they think it is important for the learning of technological skills. Other parents prohibit their children from using these electronic devices. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In some cases, parents permit their children to play on gadgets such as laptops or smartphones, because they believe that they play a vital role in developing their technological abilities. On the contrary, others strictly restrict their kids from utilizing them in any given context. Whilst giving young kids exposure to technology can help equip them with skills that can become handy in the future, I strongly believe that the mental issues and impacts on the social life of children, that derive from using them, are both very detrimental consequences that justify such restrictions. Advocates for propagating toddlers to use our modern-day innovations might argue that this will develop, improve and even enlarge their knowledge regarding certain digital applications as they will be able to familiarise themselves with the different functions of such platforms. The majority of applications nowadays have been designed to be user-friendly for different demographics, including children. Therefore, in the majority of cases, children will be able to teach themselves different skills, which they sometimes might do without even knowing. For instance, children might find themselves learning about how to play Chess or watching videos about current affairs, which will help with developing their critical thinking skills alongside their abilities to analyse various arguments. This is why it is unsurprising that parents, who might recognise such vast advantages, will persistently encourage their children to do so as this will equip children with skills which will help them in their future prospects such as at schools, university, or even in a work environment! However, I would argue that a strict limit should be put into place by the elderly in their respective families as social media platforms accessed by digital applications, have been proven to exacerbate the mental health of the youth. This is already done by some family members by limiting the time children spent on their mobile phones through a 'Screen Time ' option on certain phones. It is hard to deny that social networks, which can be accessed easily through mobile phones whilst infants play games, enable children to compare themselves to famous influencers or online celebrities of a similar age because they tend to be really active on such platforms if they have a large online audience. As a consequence, if children are exposed to such information, this will lower their self-esteem as well as their confidence, especially if the time they spend online is long. Secondly, studies have proven that there is a direct correlation between the period spent staring at a screen and an increase in social exclusion. The internet drastically decreases the ability of children to spend time outside with their peers, encouraging therefore less physical interactions with the outside world. Consequently, this not only helps spread growing resentment of children spending excessive time on the web from parents but also negatively impacts their ability to create, experience as well as enjoy new and picturesque memories outside of the internet. In conclusion, certain adults might believe that not setting a rule to the quantity of time that their children spend connected can improve their digital awareness. By contrast, I strongly disagree with this perception despite the argued benefit, since this has long-term and large-scale impacts on the mental state of children as well as their ability to interact in person with the outside world.