Some people believe that to reduce the amount of time people spend commuting (travelling to work), parks and gardens close to city centres should be replaced by apartment buildings for commuters to live in. However, others disagree with this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

With more people comes more traffic; as a result, going to work timely in the morning is a real issue for those who live in the outskirts. To solve this problem, some argue to build apartments over city parks and gardens that are nearer to workplaces while others disagree, including me. This essay will discuss both views in detail and then explain why I think this is a bad idea. Those who are in favour of this idea find that workers can reach the office quicker while saving transportation costs. To illustrate, someone travelling from West London to the centre has to pay and travel twice as much as someone who already resides there. Instead, having the option to already live around the place of work should help to not only cut time and save money but to also improve congestion. So making rooms in the middle of the city for the commuters can be beneficial for them. However, others gravely disagree and argue to safeguard the natural environment. They argue that the greens are necessary to provide fresh air and oxygen in a polluted metropolitan area. For example, the trees in London parks are responsible for converting about 65% of the carbon dioxide released by cars. This means that if there were no parks at all, then the city would face heavier pollution that directly affects the health of the population. This is why many feel that natural fertilisers such as a garden should be protected as opposed to being destroyed for making new residences. To conclude, although there are numerous benefits for employees to live near their workplaces due to the aforementioned discussion, public gardens should not be harmed because of it. I believe that natural fertilisers should be respected as well as protected since they immensely help to improve the air for humans.