More and more people want to buy clothes, cars and other products from well-known brands. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In recent modern society, people tend to purchase famous-branded products, such as garments, vehicles, and so on. In my perspective, some people think that buying those kinds of stuff could upgrade their social status in the community. By affording some products from popular brands, which seem luxurious and expensive, the public may think that they have a wealthy life, as well as high taste in their lifestyle. However, for me, this phenomenon is likely such a negative development nowadays. There are two main points that base my opinions, which are the economic and social's points of view. Firstly, from my perspective on the economic aspect, this phenomenon may lead to a degradation of the local market. If the public tends to purchase well-known brands, especially from abroad, the local brands will be lost in this competition. On the other hand, the products of our domestic brands also have better quality at much more affordable prices than several famous international brands. For example, recently I purchase running shoes that were produced by local entrepreneurs. Compared to my old shoes that I bought when I had a vacation in Singapore, I personally love the local ones because it fits perfectly on my feet and is more comfortable. Therefore, it is better for us to buy local products than foreign products. My next point of view is based on the social aspect. When people want to afford famous products, which are high in cost, they will do any endeavour to get the money. Some of my close relatives borrowed a number of cash from me to satisfy their lifestyle. Several people can pay it back on time, but others have numerous reasons to be late. Personally, I do not respect people when they do not be able to keep their promises. This situation may lead to disrespect and untrustworthy. Thus, I really suggest community to prevent this habit because it will loosen their relationship with others. In conclusion, the phenomenon of society that is likely to purchase expensive well-known products may lead to both economic and social aspects. From an economic perspective, it will decrease the local demand. Meanwhile, from a social point of view, it will raise a bad debt habit. Lastly, I recommend people buy products from local brands at affordable prices, thus we can save more money for other occasions.