Some people think that secondary school students should study international news as a school subject, but others argue that it would be a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

As geopolitics intensifies and extremism seeks to revive itself, many vital shifts in international situations and policies are being made each day, while public opinions differ on whether international news should be included in the secondary school curriculum, and my answer to this question is negative. On the one hand, some people think middle school students should catch up with those global changes in class. Firstly, no matter how old these students are, they are members of the global community, and their lives might be affected by the change of a certain international policy, so it is essential to equip them with that knowledge at school. Secondly, young students need to realize that the world is highly diversified. Through studying international news, they can get a glimpse into different lives, knowing that many problems, such as wars and poverty, remain to be solved. In this way, they can grow into more empathetic and responsible international citizens. On the other hand, there are voices that school time could be better spent on other subjects since secondary school students already have enough academic burdens on their shoulders. Subjects such as Math, Physics, and Literature are more substantial than the study of international news. Students need put much effort into those subjects which contains much basic knowledge to further their study, whereas international news is not so fundamental. From my point of view, it is undeniable that middle school students should have some ideas of what is happening in the world, but they can acquire that information through the Internet or communications with their peers or parents. I do not see the necessity of teaching International news in class unless we expect every middle school student to be an expert in fields like international relations or culture studies. To conclude, students should be encouraged to use their spare time to learn about the hottest issues around the globe, but those things shouldn’t be included in their curriculum.