The numbers of children that read books for fun has dropped dramatically in recent years. What are the reasons for this? How can we encourage children to read more?

The amount of reading from the books done by children for recreational purposes had decreased drastically in these years. The reasons and how can young people be encouraged is discussed below. To begin with, one of the major contributing factors is the use of smartphones, this gadget has a lot to offer ranging from watching a video on YouTube, Tik Tok or chatting with a friend on Facebook. One can also read e-books online which is easily accessible. Furthermore, the availability of recreational facilities could be more fascinating than browsing through a paper. For instance, visiting a park or garden would be interesting as there will be a change in the surrounding. Gaming centre is more fun rather than just sitting and reading at a particular place for long and getting bored in contrast to games which is stimulating. Children might go to the cinema to watch their favourite movie or cartoon, which is more colorful and interesting as compared to a book. Lastly, parents should encourage their young ones to read for example, a child should spend an hour every day reading comic books. Parents must also read so that youngsters are motivated. Parents can reward their children when they complete one chapter of a particular book, they can increase the pocket expense or give them their best candy or chocolates. In conclusion, the number of children that read books has decreased recently and there are many factors contributing to it as discussed. They should be encouraged to read.