In many countries, foreign labor is an important part of the economy. Using migrant labor can contribute to the development of a country, but it can also cause economic problems. What are some of the advantages and drawbacks of expatriate labor for a country’s economy?

With cutting-edge technology and innovative transportation system, globalization is more and more accelerated. In this case, a variety of foreign manpower can go around the world. Some people may think that they can improve the development of a nation; while the opposites argue that it can also lead to economic and competitive problems. To begin with, migrant labour can efficiently reduce the pressure of lack of labour. As we know, due to the lower birth rate, the labour shortage has become one of the serious problems in this generation occurring in numerous countries, for instance, Japan, Hong Kong, and also Taiwan. In other words, migrant labour can offer enterprises more varied and wider laboratory options instead of sticking to domestic workers. Employers can also have double options to hire the most suitable worker for that distinctive and professional position. Nevertheless, the opposites argue that if companies start to hire foreigners as domestic labour, it would dramatically influence younger adults' employment and highly increase their stress. According to national research, the unemployment rate is gradually become a serious issue recently; however, the former rate may affect a country’s economic performance and GDP as well. Hence, it is concerning that our government allows enterprises to hire migrant labour without complete laws, intact limitations, and criteria. The importance of cooperation with enterprises to regulate isolated rules can not be underestimated. In conclusion, it is undoubtedly that there are a variety of benefits to using labor from overseas seeing that this method can indeed lessen the manpower shortage problem which has already occurred in the country. Nonetheless, in my opinion, the national government should figure out laws and standards to manage foreign labour, not only to protect domestic workers but also to offer indemnity to migrants on salary as well as safety aspects.