In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Taking a year off after high school graduation is an opportunity for students to acquire invaluable things such as a part- time job and travelling. Some graduates decide to take this chance before entering campus life as it offers tremendous benefits. In this essay, I will explain both benefits and drawbacks of those actions including proper examples. On the one hand, taking a long time prior to educational institution entrance might cause academic delays and insecurities. Firstly, the more the students postpone studying in a university, the longer the time they will have a chance to be accepted. Compared to their peers, they will graduate late from college later. Eventually, it will take a long time for them to obtain a career which might cause a delay in their forthcoming professional career. Moreover, society may see this procrastination more as a negative side. Students might be insecure about their cohort's progress and feel ashamed about it. On the other hand, travelling or working during a year-off leave after high school graduation will bring several advantages. Travelling, as the first option, can be a sweet escape from academic pressures. By taking a break for a while, they are expected to recover from the demanding academic activity. Secondly, it will be a golden opportunity to look for themselves and find answers to questions like, "What do I really want to do next?", "What is my passion?", and "What am I capable of?" Those searching will help them to take suitable courses and trainings before making into college. They can also use that time to do research about life on campus, like the weather, the culture, and local communities. Those preparations will help them to adapt smoothly to a university’s learning environment. Moreover, the second option could be working during the gap as it offers many advantages. Having a job, either as a full- time or a part- time job employee, would be a chance to learn valuable skills in life. Interpersonal, time management, and communication skills are only some samples of the skill set. Furthermore, by earning a salary from their job, they can use it to pay for their daily needs. Or even better, they can use it for tuition fees and university expenses, for instance. Finally, their work experience during the gap would be a nice resume in their curriculum vitae. This perfect justification hopefully will showcase students ’ ability and expertise to get a suitable profession in the future. In conclusion, while having a year off after graduation may cause students academic delay and insecurities, travelling or working brings more benefits. Besides giving students time to recharge their energy, travelling time can be used to search for their interests or capabilities and equip themselves to enter the university. The gap is also a perfect time to develop skills and earn money by having a job.