Successful sports professionals can earn a lot of more money than people in other important professions. Some people think that this is fully justified while others think it is unfair. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, tempted by the substantial income figures of professional sportsmen, more and more people choose to pursue a career in sports. While some feel that such high pay that sportsmen receive creates a disbalance, I side with those who believe that such remuneration is fully deserved. First, it could be argued that sports do not represent a kind of activity that is of vital importance to society. Some people think that occupations that contribute most to the well-being and prosperity of humankind, such as doctors, firefighters and teachers, should be exclusively eligible for high income. Consequently, the great earnings of other professions that deal with entertainment, for instance, are thought to be unjustified and should be reduced. Moreover, it is sometimes claimed that activities demanding more mental than physical capacity should be better remunerated. One reason for that is that the former is considered to require more work and time to be honed, than the latter. On the other hand, personally, I believe that the big amount of money that sportsmen earn is well deserved. First, it is obvious that professional sports, which in turn are highly competitive, often result in substantial injuries to sportsmen. Thus, the high income is fully justified, because it allows them both to accept it as a kind of reward for potential traumas and to cover medical support if needed. Secondly, in my opinion, good sportsmen are an extremely rare breed, so, it naturally follows, that scarce ‘resources’ are usually expensive. As a result, I feel that sportsmen deserve to be paid a lot of money due to the exceptional mixture of their natural abilities and extensive training. In conclusion, although sports are thought not to be of essential societal importance, sportsmen work equally hard and possess unique quintessence of qualities. Therefore, on balance, I firmly believe that they should receive substantial remuneration.