Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving highway protection. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. It is often argued that severe castigations are the best way to decrease traffic collisions whilst others disagree and think that security could be improved thanks to distinct procedures. While using other methods would contribute to scaling down some traffic disasters, I believe that harsh corrections are the key to road safety. On the one hand, there are many different systems which have successfully been helpful in terms of road protection gain. Indeed, a lot of procedures were established such as laws in which they were created by governments to reinforce their citizen’s security. A good example is reducing the speed limit on highways in several countries such as France. This decree led to a better fluidity and distance between vehicles significantly cutting down pileups. This method is not a punishment not even close to being strict, but still contributes to security. On the other hand, rigid sanctions are at the forefront of highway safety circulation. We, citizens, live in a society which is structured by rights but also by duties. Each one of us needs to drive cautiously and pay attention to the ones who surround us: this is one of our duties. From time to time, street infractions (often dangerous) caused by a driver need to be heavily sanctioned because it is the main way to remind this individual of his duties and secure the roads. Moreover, he will remember his castigation and will not infract the law again. For instance, someone who did not respect the code, got into an accident and injured badly or several other human beings, putting not only himself in danger but also other humans. In conclusion, even though different ways could be a solution to driving offences, the more effective act is strict punishment.