Technological and scientific advances are changing the food people eat. Some believe that these are changes can be harmful to the health of the people. Others challenge this. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, science and technology have been incorporated in many aspects of our dietary intake and it includes many types of processed food. This issue is controversial as some people believe that these products can negatively impact one's health although, others think it is not completely true. I believe that certain categories of food can be unhealthy and have long term implications. Technology has changed our view of food in the last decade. Inspite of the presence of various groups of processed food, it is advised by some people to avoid it, and this can be because of the taste inhancers and the preservatives used in many types of our day-to-day food which can predispose various allergies and diseases. For example, various cheese industries use certain ingredients such as aspartame and unsaturated fats to make it last longer in contrast with pure fresh cheese which has a short term expiry date. Moreover, some of these preservatives can be carcinogenic. Therefore, some initiatives advertise against certain chemicals when used in certain amounts or advise manufacturers about certain limits It is also common among people to choose those processed foods as the fast-paced life sometimes entails some to consider those varied types of foods. For instance, ready-made sandwiches can have a long life span which can be suitable for working professionals when stored correctly. Consequently, it can be convenient for certain individuals to choose this as an alternative that matches their own requirements. In conclusion, technological progress in the food industry has made life more convenient for consumers. However, some of those advances can have lifelong effects on individuals.