Today people are living in a throwaway society where they use things for a short time only and then throw them away. What are the causes of this and what problems can it lead to?

In recent modern society, people are likely to use their belongings temporarily. The main cause of this phenomenon is the fascinating trend of consumerism and the desire of people to follow it. Therefore, it may lead to unwanted waste that will pollute the environment. For instance, the hottest topic related to this situation is fashion. A previous survey, conducted in 2020 by a private non-government organization concerned with fast fashion, showed that a fashion brand can release new wide-ranging clothing styles, up to five different kinds of garments, every season. On the same page, a recent study by Padjadjaran University found that three of five Bandung citizens change their wardrobe every 3 months on average. In addition to this research, half of the correspondents said that the uncomfortable feeling of being missed out on up-to-date trends may lead to this habit. This problem comes with serious consequences as well. Based on the data from the Department of Environment showed that 10,000 tonnages of dumped garbage in Leuwigajah are dominated by textile wastes. Since the early 2000s, this number has grown gradually and is projected to rise in the following decades. If this situation is not managed wisely by the stakeholders, it may lead to severe environmental issues in the future. In conclusion, the problem regarding massive consumption habits in this current society is mainly caused by the marketing of the fashion industries and followed by high demand from the public. Consequently, this phenomenon will impact nature, if the government and followed by the community as well do not take wise responsible for it. Thus, this essay suggests that every part of society should have a significant role to counter this issue.