TOPIC 4: It is thought by some that it’s better to live in a city while others believe that life is better in the countryside. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Everyone has their own choice of environment living. While it is considered by some that countrysides are more comfortable to live in, there are others who believe that cities provide a better quality of life. In my opinion, cities bring so many advantages over the rural area. There are people who argue that living in the countryside has significant health benefits. The lower risk of air pollution is better for people ’s health. It is because there are not many industrial zones in this area, as a result people living in rural areas are less likely to suffer from respiratory diseases because of the lack of air pollution. Also, mental health is enhanced because of the fresh and peaceful atmosphere. For example, many city people choose the countryside as their vacation destination. Others, on the other hand, claim that the city offers various kinds of facilities, such as shopping malls, universities, cinemas, hospitals and restaurants. So that, it would not be difficult for the city ’s residents in finding education centres, food or entertainment. Besides, people have the opportunity to find well-paid jobs or a path to personal financial growth in the city. For example, the top 100 companies in Forbes are in New York where there is a much larger population, secondly, there is good infrastructure, finally, in the cities they have many more developed services and technologies. It means that in New York, people are more likely to be able to find the job they wanted. Last, I strongly believe that city life is better. Cities provide better job opportunities and other amenities. Most industries and reputed educational institutions are located in urban areas. By contrast, people living in rural areas often have to migrate to cities for higher education or better job. Not only this, the complex transportation system connects all the dots around the city to make it easier to commute downtown. This helps residents' city save commuting time. In summary, although the countryside's overall lifestyle is healthier than in the city, rural life ignores too many modern conveniences. Each individual has to decide what they value most but most should choose city life.