These days, many university courses are offered through the internet. Some people think that online teaching has more advantages than conventional classroom teaching or lectures, while others claim that there are significant disadvantages. Do the benefits of online teaching outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, university courses can be accessed through both offline and online mediums making it available to those who seek to enrol in them. While some may claim that the traditional method of learning in class is still the superior form of teaching, the merits of the new online method still make it a considerable option. The main drawback that some may argue about online courses is that the students are prone to slack off during class. However, this kind of risk cannot be generalised for every student as it depends on their willingness to study. Many mitigations such as in the form of a check-in application have been invented to prevent the lazy student from being absent during the supposed study time. This shows how the potential disadvantages are being quickly prevented by the new inventions. In contrast, offering the option to learn outside of class will give opportunities to many students who are not fortunate enough to attend in-class courses. For example, students now can apply to take courses offered by other universities that can enrich their knowledge outside of their own. To add more, some online courses are taught by on-demand recordings which give students the freedom to choose their study time. This gives more options for the students to take on internships or projects so they can apply their knowledge in the real world. To conclude, although in the meantime the risks and disadvantages of offline courses are still present, online courses still offer wider opportunities and inclusiveness that the traditional method does not have. If supported by the constant flow of invention for mitigations and improvements, online teaching will continue to provide many more benefits that will continue to outweigh the comparing method.