Why do people choose to be self employed rather than working in a company? What could be the disadvantages? Give your reasoning and examples.

​​Nowadays we might often see people who prefer to work independently over working for companies or organisations. Some examples of being self-employed include owning a company and working freelance to offer services independently. In this essay, I will explain the reasoning and also a disadvantage of the option. Individuals can opt for working as an entrepreneur or freelance workers due to specific circumstances that make it difficult for them to come to offices every day. When working in companies or other organizations, individuals need to show up at workplaces every day at a certain time and place. This can be hard for people that, for instance, have disabilities that limit their mobility or have obligations that require them to be at home such as needing to take care of children, sick or old relatives. By setting up their own companies or becoming freelance employees, people are free to determine what time or where they have to work. However, we can see a disadvantage to this life choice, in which self-employed workers might not have a stable income. Employees receive a monthly salary unless there are extenuating circumstances like getting laid off or the firm suffering bankruptcy. Rather than this, entrepreneurs or freelance workers need to worry about their source of income every month. As an example, an individual offering a service to draw illustrations needs to find his or her own clients independently and make sure that the payments are enough to cover daily necessities. To summarize, some can choose to be self-employed because they have requirements that disable them to work in offices daily due to disabilities or being a caretaker to kids, sick or old relatives. Consequently, they are able to determine their working conditions freely. On the other hand, a disadvantage to this is that they need to pay attention to their stream of income themselves.