Some people think zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, some people think zoos can help protect the rare animals. Discuss both these views, and give your opinion.

Some individuals made a proposal that zoos should be banned all around the world, while others disagree due to the protection they provide for endangered species. I am in favour of the latter point of view. On the one hand, the main reason why a number of public consider zoos to be cruel and against to their existence is that they keep beasts in a limited space for human watching. Wild creatures may lose their natural ability for hunting and hard to adapt tough survival conditions again. In addition, visitors may treat animals in the wrong way. For instance, there are some reports about individuals who feed monkeys and other beasts with bread ignoring the notice boards. These behaviours are not allowed, because human food may sometimes be harmful to their health. On the other hand, people who stand up for zoos insist that it plays a crucial role in the rare species’ protection. Firstly, animals in zoos, compare to wild species, are able to live a better life, which means they do not have to escape from their predators or suffer from food insufficiency. As a result, it brings endangered animals a longer life expectancy and a rise in the amount of their population. Secondly, income from zoos can be used for preventing creatures from extinction. For example, money from the Chengdu Zoos organization contributes to pandas’ reproduction plan. In this way, not only living conditions of zoo creatures can be improved, but also experiments by zoologists can be founded. In conclusion, although few people still worry about zoos limit animals’ freedom, I believe that they have essential values for rare species’ protection, such as life condition guarantee and healthcare foundation. In this case, I think that zoos should not be closed.