Parents want to achieve balance between family and career but only a few manage to achieve it. What do think is the reason? Discuss possible solutions and provide examples

These days, mothers and fathers struggle to strike a balance between their home and their jobs however, just a few successfully maintain an equilibrium even when a lot of parents desire to achieve this. This imbalance has been attributed to busy work schedules and the poor economy of the country. My essay will shed more light on these reasons and provide some recommendations. Firstly, couples struggle to achieve a balance because of their strained work schedules and when husband and wife are unable to have enough time for their children it usually leads to chaos in the home. For example, children whose parents have to go offshore are usually made to stay with family friends or relatives and this could be traumatic for them and can lead to emotional separation which has led increased crime rate in the community. Secondly, some parents are workaholics and too focused on their careers without wanting to let go of some aspects of their work in other to be their families. For instance, some couple attends all office functions such as dinners, seminars and gathering that are not compulsory when they could skip these offers in other be with their families. Also, due to the economy of the country some parents have to put in so much effort in other to provide for their families and which might entail doing extra shifts or doing multiple jobs so their family can afford to meet their basic needs. Some possible solution to this unpleasant situation is that couples should learn to plan their activities and pick up jobs that will create time for their family or the wife should stay at home. Also, parents should avoid some activities that are not compulsory at work because participating in all activities can be cumbersome for them. Employers should ensure they make working conditions favourable for parents and job owners could reach a favourable agreement with this set of employees in other to help them have a peaceful home. In addition, the government should ensure they make laws and policies that support families such as flexible working hours for parents and maternity and paternity leave. In conclusion, busy working schedules and the bad economy has contributed to the disequilibrium between work and home. However, parents should take up jobs that will create time for their families also, employers and the government should ensure they create good working conditions and policies.