Every pet owner should treat their pet like a family member to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Unlike our ancestors who keep pets for practical usages, such as hunting or guarding houses, however, many pet owners nowadays treat their pets as part of their families, in some countries, there are regulations to declare the obligation of being a pet owner. In my perspective, despite some suggesting that animals should serve humans to create a more convenient environment, there are more advantages derived from the trends of treating pets as family members. On the one hand, some opponents argue that people nowadays invest too much money in pet products and services which is unnecessary. They believe that people should make good use of the talents of animals to work for them, including making cats catch rats; or training dogs to conduct dangerous tasks. For example, dogs have a better sense of smell and be able to detect illegal drugs and locate smugglers, in which many of them are being trained to serve in the police force. On the other hand, there are many positive effects provoked by treating pets as part of families. First of all, it could foster young individuals with altruism and be responsible by treating their pets as one of family members. For instance, young individuals will contribute their time for playing games to take dogs out for a walk. Secondly, it could reduce the phenomena of animal abuse when individuals treat their pets as human beings, in which they will not abandon them, or conduct physical harm to them. In some nations, governments encourage their residents to look after their pets as part of family members by making regulations to punish those who treat their pets in the wrong way, including overfeeding or physically hurting them. To summarise, some people suggest that animals should not be treated as part of family members since they are supposed to serve human societies instead of the other way around. I personally strongly agree that individuals should take their pets as part of the family since they are a good company for children, moreover, it could stop the deterioration of animal abuse.