In many countries, young people are moving from rural areas to cities to work or study. Why is this happening? What are advantages or disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, a lot of people can be seen migrating from remote areas to the city to either work or study. It is undeniably true that moving from the countryside are proven beneficial,especially for the development of an individual. However, there are some drawbacks as well. This essay will address both advantages and disadvantages of this idea. The main benefit of moving to the urban areas is more job opportunities in the city as compared to the rural areas. Furthermore, the wages offered in the city are better than the salary paid in those remote areas. For example, a study by Seek, a recruiting company, shows that companies located in the city or business district pay their staff 30% more as compared to companies located in the agricultural areas. As for the study, there is a number of choices of school in the city as the government keep building new schools to cater for the population. One possible drawback is the city will be crowded and over-populated, while the rural areas become underdeveloped. As a result of fewer people living in the village, the government will start neglecting the need for more facilities and will hesitate to develop the areas. In addition, there will be fewer work opportunities for village dwellers. They will have no choice but to stay farming. For instance, this happened in Malaysia, when youngsters and young families start to migrate, and the government will start shutting down a few schools and community halls in the village to save money and electricity. Consequently, it will leave no job opportunities for teachers or school staff. In conclusion, while relocating to the city can be beneficial for modern society, it will contribute to chaos when the city becomes overcrowded and simultaneously create less opportunity for the rise of under-developed rural areas.