People should be allowed to obscure their identity online. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Over the last two or three years, the way people use the internet has changed dramatically. As a result, a growing number of people try to hide their personalities on social media platforms. I totally disagree with this point of view because for people using social media for real identity is crucial for relatives or friends to know better and express the reality of the person. To start with, the reason why people should be clear about their reality on social media platforms is that it shows their real personality. These days people know each other more by their identification online rather than by communicating because most individuals spend more time scrolling their phones than talking to others. For instance, if you post or comment on something on social media, it would be shown to friends following you, and they form an image of you accordingly. However, if somebody is using the internet with a fake identity and posting bad things, then it could be beneficial for him because he will be unnoticed by his knowns. Another worth considering point is the increase in crimes and suicide rates. They should not be allowed to hide their identity because some people misuse this opportunity and blackmail innocent people for money or personal issues which may lead to crime or unwanted decisions. For example, a piece of news was posted in the newspaper last week where a businessman was blackmailed by a kidnapper and he demanded a huge amount of money otherwise he could have harmed his family. Therefore, these kinds of problems are arising because people are not showing who they are and taking advantage of being unknown. To conclude, people must show their real personalities on the internet and they should not be allowed to be unreal because it can increase crime issues and can prevent people from being who they are in real.