In the past few decades, there has been a tremendous increase in the number of children playing computer games. A negative impact of this worrying trend is its effect on the physical and mental health of young children. However, there are solutions readily available to tackle this issue, such as reducing the time a child is allowed to spend playing video games.

Over the past few decades, there has been a tremendous increase in the number of individuals questioning the effects of playing computer games on children's lives. One of the main dangers of this worrying trend is linked to addiction. However, there are solutions readily available to tackle this problematic issue, such as limiting the hours spent in front of a computer. To begin, there is an argument to be made that the growing computer addiction has a significant impact on the cognitive abilities of a child. To exemplify, according to Dr Reynolds, a world-famous neurologist, a majority of children damage 30% of their neurons and synapses after spending an average of 3 hours on computer gaming for 2 weeks in a row, resulting in poor academic performance at school. For this reason, it is clear that an obsession with playing computer games can negatively affect the learning and thinking process of a child, as their minds tend to deviate quite easily. Furthermore, it not only affects their education but also their social life, as these children abhor leaving their rooms for any social gathering or event. With this in mind, there is no doubt that if no measures are taken to prevent this issue, more children will fall into the trap of e-gaming and suffer the consequences. In order to resolve this troubling issue, one viable solution would be to regulate the number of hours spent on computer gaming. For instance, based on a survey conducted by Ryan International School, two-thirds of students showed improvement in their grades after their parents implemented a 1:3 policy which gave them access to computers thrice a week for an hour only. Therefore, it is evident that setting ground rules and regulations can help children maintain a healthy balance between recreational activities and school, as children can only wean themselves off these devices if strict measures are taken. Furthermore, less screen time will allow them to have a stable social life, as they will have more opportunities to spend time with family and friends. With this in mind, there is no doubt that if guardians monitor their child's activity on the computer, they can avoid any negative outcomes of computer addiction. To conclude from the aforementioned discussion, the overwhelming evidence seems to suggest that unlimited and unregulated access to computers can have detrimental effects on children's lives. However, it is still possible to turn the tide by taking adequate measures to restrict their excessive usage.