In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies?

Many people around the world believe that youngsters should work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university lives. There are some benefits of this such as improving world knowledge, and soft skills and finding the aim in life. However, there are several drawbacks as well and it will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, taking a gap year for students can be a huge experience and an opportunity for their future well-being. In other words, year off is a chance to expand the horizon. Some young individuals may struggle with the choice of university studies and their future careers. Therefore, taking a gap year can be a helpful option for understanding yourself and finding purpose. For example, by working or travelling young aged people will meet new various types of individuals and it is a way for improving soft skills. Also, a person may prefer to stay working, because he find his dream job. On the other hand, there are several negative sides of this such as financial burden and delaying academic progress. For some students taking a year off can be expensive, especially if individuals decide to travel instead of work. Moreover, issues with academic progress can be challenging. For instance, some teenagers can struggle with falling behind their peers or schoolmates which can cause isolation or another kind of mental problems. To conclude, nowadays giving a free year before beginning university can be a great opportunity for students. Also, this improves world knowledge and a better understanding of themselves by achieving some soft skills. Nevertheless, some downsides can cause financial and academic issues.