Some people think that the government should provide free education at every level. However, some say that individuals should pay for their university education. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the past few decades, there has been a tremendous increase in the number of taxpayers questioning higher education fees. On one side of the spectrum, there are those who believe that government-backed university education may lead to many abusing the system. However, critics, including myself, strongly oppose this view and instead believe that education should be made free, regardless of the level, in order to bridge the gap between rich and poor. To begin, there is an argument to be made that free education should not extend to undergraduate and postgraduate levels, as many young learners would take advantage of the system. For example, most German high school graduates have no idea what to do in the future and therefore decide to go to university just to escape from entering the workforce. For this reason, it is evident that students must contemplate whether or not higher education is suitable for them before investing significantly in their own education, otherwise there would be far too many young people abusing the system. What is more, pupils focus more on their studies and are more determined when they pay for their own education, as the vast majority of them accumulate student loans or borrow funds from their parents, meaning that failure would devastate them financially. This being the case, it can be assumed that if university education were free in every nation, millions of students would delay entering the workforce. Nonetheless, despite the points made above, it must be stated that universal education provides opportunities to students in poverty with a chance to change their lives. For instance, the exorbitant price of university tuition is the main reason students from developing countries do not pursue a higher level of education. Therefore, it is clear that in order to achieve equality in society and further prevent the gap between the rich and the poor, the government must take action and give a helping hand to those who may substantially contribute to society in the future. What is more, although pupils that are offered scholarships or grants at the tertiary education level often have better academic performance than their counterparts, many talented students tend to never apply as the amount of bureaucracy involved is often overwhelming. With this in mind, there is no doubt that if the government does nothing to reduce the fees of higher education, numerous potential doctors, scientists, and engineers may never have the chance to fulfil their true potential. To conclude, whilst some are under the impression that free higher education can result in a lazier society, others, myself included, strongly believe that making education free, will help students to lift themselves out of poverty and break the cycle. From my perspective, I am of the fierce belief that everyone should enjoy education without worrying about any financial debt that may incur afterwards.