Older people often choose to spend money on themselves (e.g. on holidays) rather than save money for their children after retirement. Is this a positive or negative development?

During life, many parents prefer to spend their money on their children. But the older they become than more money they prefer to use for themselves than collect them for kids. I believe that a positive effect is much better than a negative one. First of all, as time passes, elderly people start to trust children more. In other words, they see that kids are going to be well-qualified and prosperous individuals and can cope with their problems alone. That is why they are experiencing relief in terms of adoption and endless help to kids. In addition, healthy egoism lets them spend more money without feeling anxious or guilty. For example, many aged people travel a lot, taking high expenditure. They feel that their children's duties are over. Secondly, after a certain age, many people feel that they are going to be older and life is not endless. Nevertheless, they have spent their life, and they have not seen much of what upsets a lot of people. This is because their life has passed in the care of somebody else, even their children. Thus, many retiring people try to supply the end of their life by pursuing their dreams and endeavours. Evidently, this deliverance can bring the whole family to better harmonical relationships. To sum up, it is the tendency to spend more money on retired people for themselves rather than on children has a certain positive basement. Such things as decreasing internal anxiety and growing wish to follow their own dreams prioritise money expenditures.