Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarket in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. What extent do you agree?

Some countries are experiencing the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets, making small local businesses difficult to compete. People believe that closing local businesses will result in local communities going under. I disagree with the above viewpoint as even though closing regional enterprises may pose some difficulties to the local community, it doesn’t threaten their existence, and I’ll explain my thoughts in the following paragraphs. Almost all cities and towns are dotted with supermarkets and shopping malls today. Shopping at these places is a favourite pastime for people. People in today’s society prefer to buy items from supermarkets and shopping centres as these places offer many amenities such as cinemas and restaurants. Further, many people are enticed to different supermarket schemes like the added discounts and offer that they receive regularly. As a consequence, local markets face stiff competition nowadays from supermarkets. In other words, even if a small business dies, the local communities will not suffer because there are enough alternatives available for them. Further, because of the wide selection of shops available at one location, shopkeepers will be more motivated to maintain product quality and tough competition will prevent them from raising the price. This will benefit the local communities. A wide variety of products are offered in a single location, and so people nowadays find supermarkets more convenient. It is tedious and time-consuming to go to different shops to acquire different items. However, there is an argument that supermarkets are typically located in the town centre and people find it inconvenient to travel so far, however modern technological advances have increased the ease and affordability of travelling through inventions like metros. In conclusion, the closing of regional shops would have some negative consequences for locals, but not enough to threaten their existence.