Transport delays and long journey times are widespread phenomena in many cites today. What are the causes of this problem, and how could the situation be improved.

It has become a common problem nowadays where people have to allocate time for at least double the amount of their original time if they want to reach one place on time. There are various possible reasons that can explain this situation and this essay will try to explain a few along with its solution. Firstly, it is undeniable that the number of private transport keeps increasing throughout the years. Due to its simplicity along with the affordable cost of gas, one individual could own at least one car or motorcycle. This phenomenon increase traffics and impacts public transportation which is provided by the government. In addition, the limited number of public transportation and its bad management also play a role in causing the delay problem. For example, the ways that were specifically created for busways in Jakarta, are often used by the public. Hence, it is impossible for them to arrive on time. Furthermore, some routes only provide a bus once every hour, which means that we have to wait for another hour if the previous bus is full. One clear solution is to increase the number of public transportation, which can be possible through taxes that are collected by the government. Another possible solution is to correct the management of these public accommodations. For example, in Tokyo, the metros and trains are available every 1-2 minutes and have been well managed for quite some time. By doing that, more and more people prefer to use public transportation instead of their own vehicles. To conclude, the main reasons are probably due to a limited number of vehicles and bad management. Whereas for the solution, it can eradicate by increasing the amount of public transportation and correcting the management itself.