The best way to solve the world's environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extend do you agree or disagree? what other solutions can you offer?

Presently, there has been a ubiquitous concern about the harmful effects that fall on the environment. While some environmentalists suggest that raising fuel prices will solve that problem, economists hold a diverse perspective. However, I am of the stance that if the price of petrol increases globally, the world economy will stagnate, In the following lines, previously-mentioned points will be thoroughly elaborated. To commence with, despite the fact that congested roads are one of the chief rationales of global warming, increasing the cost of energy sources will not reduce our dependence on them. In other words, since petrol is considered an inelastic commodity, demand for it will not change as a consequence of raising its price. For example, even though the Egyptian government has lifted its subsidy for inflammable substances, the demand for it did not decrease; in fact, this has negatively impacted their standard of living. Thus, what can be deduced is that upsurging the price of fuel will not yield the desired outcome of tackling global warming. Nevertheless, there are a number of solutions that could mitigate the impacts of greenhouse gases. If authorities introduce schemes for communal transport, less harm will fall on the environment. To make my case, the government of Egypt has embarked on a new project to build an electric highspeed railroad to connect all its governorates with a single network and encourage its citizens to commute through public transportation. Hence, what can be inferred is that the more we rely on shared buses and trains, the healthier our environment will become. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the aforementioned points, it can be reiterated that increasing the cost of fuel will not decrease demand for it. In my view, governments should endeavour to alter the way their public commute and entice them to place their reliance on modes of transport that are environmentally friendly.