More students are deciding to study science-related subjects at university rather than more traditional subjects. What is the main cause of this? What effect will it have on society.

Comparing with those traditional majors such as literature, history or philosophy, majors like science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) are more attractive among college students. Higher rate of employment and better financial rewards can be considered as main reasons. However, this may cause a shortage of talents in some specific fields in society. Employability and salary are the two most important factors for student to choose their major in university, because the main purpose of professional studying is helping them to be fully prepared for their future job. Picking science-related subjects may be the easiest way which lead them to enjoy a guaranteed prospect after graduation. For example, according to the survey “Report of employability and income of fresh graduate in China 2022” done by Beijing University: hiring rate of students from STEM was 30% higher than other majors, and their first-year average income was also 20% higher. However, this may result in a shortage of specific manpower in society. If a large amount of talents influx into specific areas like coding or engineering, it also means that less people are willing to get involve Change the form of the verb involved show examples in other traditional fields and talents’ shortage may appear in related industries. For instance, in recent years, Canada keeps hiring nurses from developing countries, while the shortage of nurse continues to grow because local students have lower willing to study nursing. In the long run, this will lower the working efficiency of medical system in this country. In conclusion, more students prefer to learn science-related majors instead of traditional ones because this choice can bring them higher rate of employment and salary, while society may suffer from a shortage of manpower in some specific industries, and fail to function effectively.