Nowadays the differences between countries are becoming less evident because we see the same TV shows, advertisements, fashion and follow the same brands. To what extent the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

Advanced technologies provoke globalisation and foster an incremental similarity of lifestyle around the world. Despite some drawbacks derived from such trends, I tend to agree that it is a positive progress based on many advantages. On the one hand, some downsides could be seen in such trends, including the loss of cultural diversity due to the great influence of strong culture, which demolishes local tradition. For example, the increasing popularity of Western food such as burgers and fried chicken in Taiwan replace the role of local food and become what the younger generations intake on a daily basis since those food are easy to be carried around, which endanger the local restaurants. Moreover, the influence of domain language growing in size stimulate the extinction of minority languages. Take English as an example, the number of young people in Asian countries who speak English as their first language is growing in size, however, many of them are unable to speak their mother tongue. On the other hand, I am in favour of those positive changes derived from the phenomena as such, first of all, it provides more job opportunities to residents in developing countries, since many international commercial institutions relocate their factories to cut down the costs of human sources. For instance, China is known as a world factory, attracting commercial institutions around the world due to its low labour costs and high efficiency. Secondly, the younger generations now could access more information from TV shows from different nations, which could expand their horizons. Such as the Discovery channel, which allows audiences to see different animals live in different regions. To summarise, there are pros and cons regarding globalisation, while some argue that such trends could endanger cultural diversity, I am in favour of the idea that international commercial institutions could provide many positive influences to local businesses and stimulate the economy in certain countries.