Online shopping is replacing offline or shopping from stores.do you think it is a positive or negative development?

There is not even a shadow of doubt that online shopping is becoming more and more popular. Especially after the pandemic of COVID-19 when online shopping was the only option, people have become accustomed to it. I think it has both positive and negative effects and this essay will shed some light on those effects. The convenience of online shopping cannot be snubbed, it has become an integral part of our quotidian lives. The comfort of sitting at home and having your desired products delivered at your doorstep is truly enticing. Additionally, e-commerce has acted as the saviour during the covid outbreak when social distancing was mandatory. Furthermore, virtual shopping is very fitting for those with disabilities, they do not have to rely on another person in order to purchase something. Moreover, locals from remote locations do not have to travel a long way for their basic necessities. However, we cannot turn a blind eye to fact that online shopping is taking out a huge chunk of our social lives. Offline shopping encourages socialisation to a great extent. For instance, I remember meeting my neighbours regularly at the local grocer when I was a kid. But this scenario has changed now. With the rise of online shopping popularity, people are becoming more enslaved to electronic devices. It goes without saying, that online markets are stealing the jobs of many people working in store. Many shops are closing down and switching their business online due to lack of sales. Probing further, we have to take into consideration the fact that the older generation would much rather do their shopping in person. In conclusion, it can be stated vociferously that the proliferating trend of online shopping comes with both advantages and disadvantages. Despite, the alarming negative effects I personally believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.