Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many businesses have been branching out into overseas, as a result of which people can purchase any similar products regardless of their location. While it may pose a threat to domestic companies, this will bring greater benefits to individuals, encompassing broadening an array of accessible options as well as their understanding of other cultures. Importing goods from other nations could result in a multitude of domestic industries going out of business. For instance, in Japan, there is a wide range of products from all over the globe such as electric appliances, cars, and coffee beans. This movement would undoubtedly have a detrimental influence on the revenue of the existing domestic companies on account of the tough competition. Nevertheless, the negative effect could be meditated by introducing high tariffs on these imported items, leading to a healthy balance in the markets. Viewing this trend from customers’ perspectives, two major positive impacts can be observed, one of which is regarding fulfilling their needs better. As an example, if cars made in Japan or Korea were not available in Australia, not only would many struggle to locate a reasonably priced car, but it would also cause people not to access their favourable brands, meaning that constrain available choices. Furthermore, having products from a different country can also spur people to understand different cultures. This is certainly exemplified by many Japanese people being tuned into Korean idols, and dramas, as a result of prevalent Korean goods across the country. Hence, improving accessibility to multiple nations’ items, in which similar products are sold regardless of geographical locations, can contribute to these two merits. To conclude, although there might be a likelihood that domestic companies would be impaired by the prevalence of imported items, it can be prevented by some regulations. If anything, it is more likely to accommodate customers’ needs as well as instil people in other people ’s cultures.